Sneaky Savy Way To Save Money On Airport Travel

I discovered a sneaky way to save some money going to the airport.

The story didn’t start out as a way to save money endeavor. I landed in Fort Lauderdale Florida. I took the complimentary shuttle bus to the car rental. I am from Orlando, Florida and since my ID is from Florida the car rental place said I had to put a $2,000 deposit down! Priceline never mentioned this.. and I don’t have that kind of cash. Yes, believe it or not Fort Lauderdale deals with a lot of theft etc. that they make Florida residents put a down payment to rent a car. 🤦🏼‍♀️😩

Greyhound Bus Amenities

So I took a $25 greyhound to Key Largo where my friends and I were staying. This ended up being brilliant. This was my first time on the greyhound and I was very impressed. The bus was nice, had reclining seats, WiFi on board, snack vending (at the terminal) and outlets on the bus. So I saved tons of money just by riding the bus. I didn’t have to pay gas OR tolls.

Here’s the super sneaky way I saved again.

At the end of the trip I paid another $25 to take the greyhound bus from Key Largo to Fort Lauderdale. Now luckily for me, the Fort Lauderdale greyhound is only 2.5 miles from the car rental where my story began.

I don’t recommend doing as I did unless you want the exercise but I walked it! I stopped along the way, ate pizza and just took my time. I walked to the rental place and hopped in line for the FREE shuttle to the airport. I had my bags with me so for all the driver knew I just returned my rental car. Now I needed a ride back to the airport.

Here’s me comfortably in my free shuttle to the airport. (The airport is about 4 miles away)

Now I imagine this works the other way too. Just hop on a car rental shuttle and once you arrive you can use lyft or uber OR city transit to get a cheaper fare to your destination.

Has anybody else used greyhound? I’m a big fan! Has anybody tried this sneaky trick? Let me know!

Leave a comment